Dan in Argentina: Putting the Study in Study Abroad

To my Auntie Donna who always jokes there's no way I go to classes because I have so much fun abroad, here's proof on the contrary. Well, I guess all this proves is that I've stood in front of the school... but trust me, I've entered the building as well. The University Torcuato di Tella was founded in 1991 and recently moved to this building in March 2013. The very modern building with cement floors and big glass doors and windows stays (aesthetically) true to its industrial roots as an automobile factory.

To my Auntie Donna, who always jokes there’s no way I go to classes because I have so much fun abroad, here’s proof on the contrary. Well, I guess all this proves is that I’ve stood in front of the school… but trust me, I’ve entered the building as well. The University Torcuato di Tella was founded in 1991 and recently moved to this building in March 2013. The very modern building with cement floors and big glass doors and windows stays (aesthetically) true to its industrial roots as an automobile factory.

 

Di Tella, as students commonly shorten the University's name, is known for its business and architecture programs. All located under the roof of one main building, other programs of study include political science, law, history and international studies. The school has about 1,200 undergraduate students. I, along with the other Richmond students here, am in direct exchange with di Tella and UR which means students from Buenos Aires are currently in Virginia studying on our campus.

Di Tella, as students commonly shorten the University’s name, is known for its business and architecture programs. All located under the roof of one main building, other programs of study include political science, law, history and international studies. The school has about 1,200 undergraduate students. I, along with the other Richmond students here, am in direct exchange with di Tella and UR which means students from Buenos Aires are currently in Virginia studying on our campus.

 

This is what almost every classroom at di Tella looks like: very simple with concrete floors, white tables, white walls, a projection screen and one of those cool sliding whiteboard things. This is the room in which I have my Argentine Literature class. I am also taking a Latin American Cinema course and a class called Dictatorships and Militancy in the Southern Cone (Argentina, Chile and Uruguay) During the 1960's and 70's. I have enjoyed all of them so far.

This is what almost every classroom at di Tella looks like: very simple with concrete floors, white tables, white walls, a projection screen and one of those cool sliding whiteboard things. This is the room in which I have my Argentine Literature class. I am also taking a Latin American Cinema course and a class called Dictatorships and Militancy in the Southern Cone (Argentina, Chile and Uruguay) During the 1960’s and 70’s. I have enjoyed all of them so far.

 

Getting ready for class today, I decided to have a little photoshoot. These are the materials I have for my Dictatorships class. We recently read the popular Rodolfo Fogwill novel "Los Pichiciegos." It is about a fictional group of Argentine military deserters during the Malvinas War, better known as the Falkland Islands War, between Argentina and the United Kingdom in 1983. Although a good read, I enjoy our other readings more which regard the history and the current memory of the topic. It is interesting to study how history is presented and how people remember these negative and sometimes traumatic events.

Getting ready for class today, I decided to have a little photoshoot. These are the materials I have for my Dictatorships class. We recently read the popular Rodolfo Fogwill novel “Los Pichiciegos.” It is about a fictional group of Argentine military deserters during the Malvinas War, better known as the Falkland Islands War, between Argentina and the United Kingdom in 1983. Although a good read, I enjoy our other readings more which regard the history and the current memory of the topic. It is interesting to study how history is presented and how people remember these negative and sometimes traumatic events.

 

Comments are closed.

