Tony in Switzerland: Mountain Views and Olympic Dudes

Hey everyone! I’m reaching the end of my first week here in Lausanne. Between my intensive French pre-semester class and paperwork, I’ve been pretty busy all week long, but I couldn’t have imagined a better host city. Before coming to Switzerland, I received advice from different people concerning studying abroad: how to be safe, how to have fun, and what to look out for. When the advice concerned Switzerland, I started getting this idea of entering a homogenous area that doesn’t particularly cater to international visitors. I have spent about a week exploring the city now, and with each day, I find so much of an international emphasis and a city whose university attracts innumerable exchange students.

 

Everywhere I go, I can always see the mountains behind buildings. It's a beautiful combination of the natural landscape and the modern cityscape.

Everywhere I go, I can always see the mountains behind buildings. It’s a beautiful combination of the natural landscape and the modern cityscape.

 

I found this graffiti at the train stop in front of UNIL. It translates (roughly) to "Let us not be sheep." Coincidentally, I found the message the same day I was assigned to explore an original research topic that ties in with the city of Lausanne.

I found this graffiti at the train stop in front of UNIL. It translates (roughly) to “Let us not be sheep.” Coincidentally, I found the message the same day I was assigned to explore an original research topic that ties in with the city of Lausanne.

 

 The Cathedral of Lausanne is absolutely breathtaking. It may not be featured in the art history textbooks I've used in the past, but its interior rivals that of any parallel architecture in Europe.

The Cathedral of Lausanne is absolutely breathtaking. It may not be featured in the art history textbooks I’ve used in the past, but its interior rivals that of any parallel architecture in Europe.

 

In my travels throughout the city, I have encountered the Olympic Museum. Lausanne will host the winter Olympics in 2020, and in anticipation of the event, the museum displays replicas of well known statues from their Classical origins.

In my travels throughout the city, I have encountered the Olympic Museum. Lausanne will host the winter Olympics in 2020, and in anticipation of the event, the museum displays replicas of well known statues from their Classical origins.

 

The museum also showcases modern representations of the Olympics and offers fun facts about Rio de Janeiro all around the grounds.

The museum also showcases modern representations of the Olympics and offers fun facts about Rio de Janeiro all around the grounds.

 

Leave a Reply

